When you can cross the plane of the net in pickleball — Tips for beginners from pickleball official Maddie Toren on SelkirkTV
In the latest installment of “10 Pickleball Rules for Beginners,” professional pickleball official Maddie Toren explains when pickleball players can cross the plane of the net.
After striking the ball, a player or anything the player is wearing or carrying may cross the plane of the net. This includes a player’s paddle, hat, and apparel.
It’s important to note that although a player may cross the plane of the net after striking the ball, they may not touch any part of the net system, their opponent, or their opponent’s court while the ball is still in play. If any of these instances occur, it is a fault and results in the loss of a point.
Crossing the plane of the net before striking the ball is a fault and results in the loss of a point. However, there is one exception to this rule.
Suppose the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return over the net (without the receiving player hitting it). In that case, the receiving player may cross the plane of the net over, under, or around the net to hit the ball. However, the ball must cross over the net to the opponent’s side before the receiving player can do so.
Keep up with other videos
Follow the 10-video installment to learn all the rules and regulations every beginner must know before stepping onto the court. Check out the previous episodes below:
- Episode 1: The two types of legal pickleball serves
- Episode 2: Where to stand as the server and other service rules
- Episode 3: How to keep score in pickleball
- Episode 4: Understanding the two-bounce rule
- Episode 5: The non-volley zone (kitchen) explained
Be sure to follow along for each new installment of the series. Download the Selkirk TV app HERE to watch other SelkirkTV original shows, podcasts, lesson series from the pros, and much more.